NC required statewide tests (as of 2015-16 school year)

North Carolina currently requires public school students to take several kinds of tests. Many of these tests are mandated by the federal government. The tests are given to all students, with some accommodations for students with disabilities and English Language Learners.

Federal: Standardized tests currently mandated by the federal government through the recently passed Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

Grades 3-8

English, Math EOG (End-of-Grade)

Grades 5 and 8 

Science EOG

High School

Biology, Math I, English II EOC (End-of-Course)


State: Additional standardized tests mandated by the legislature and state agencies

Grades K-3

Reading (state recommends mClass Reading 3-D)

Grade 3

English BOG (Beginning-of-Grade)

Grades 4-8 

Social Studies NCFE (North Carolina Final Exam)

Grades 3-4 and 6-7

Science NCFE

High School

English I, II, IV NCFE

Math II, III, Discrete, Pre-Calculus NCFE

World History, History I, II, Civics and Economics NCFE

CTE Final Exams


ACT (Grade 11)

ACT WorkKeys (Grade 12 CTE students)